Jump to content
Explore Forums

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'texas'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Site News, Information, and Introductions
    • Introductions
    • General Discussion
  • The Inner Circle Private Discussion Forums
    • The Inner Circle General Discussions
  • Videos
    • Youtube Videos
    • YouTube Creators Discussion
    • Youtube Video Critiques
  • Abandoned Places, Urban Exploring, and Ghost Towns And Historic Sites
    • General Abandoned Places, Ghost Town and Historic Sites Discussions
    • Abandoned Places, Ghost Towns and Historic Sites Current Status
    • Abandoned Places and Ghost Towns In The News
    • Historical Ghost Town and Abandoned Places News
    • Abandoned Places and Ghost Town Books For Sale
    • Abandoned Places and Ghost Town Articles, History And Information
    • Reference Forum
  • Other Topics
    • General Photography
    • Travel and Trips
    • General Automotive
    • General Firearms Discussion
    • General Camping Discussions
  • Technology And Gear Forums
    • General Exploration Gear For Sale
    • General Technology Discussions
    • General Gear Discussions
  • Exploration Weather Safety's Tropical weather
  • Exploration Weather Safety's Survival Stories


There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start





Website URL







First Name


Explore Vehicle

Found 9 results

  1. Toyah takes its name from an Indian word meaning 'flowing water'. It is the oldest townsite in Reeves County, and began as a trading post for ranches in the area. Prior to the Texas and Pacific Railway's arrival, W.T. Youngblood and his family arrived in a covered wagon and opened an adobe store. In 1881, Toyah saw first train and a post office was open. By the end of the year, Toyah had tents, saloons, restaurants, and a six-times weekly stage service provided by the Overland Transportation Company connecting to Fort Stockton and Fort Davis. In 1886, the A.M. Fields Hotel was opened, and in 1894 Toyah's first school was built. By 1910, Toyah had a population of 771 and had become an important cattle shipping point (although the shipping point soon moved to Toyahvale, some 25 miles south as the crow flies). A handsome new brick school was erected in 1912, and by 1914 Toyah had over a thousand residents, where it remained until the Crash of 1929. Two years later, only 553 remained in Toyah, and only 17 businesses were open. Since then, Toyah has been in a steady decline. By 2010, only 90 people remained in the quiet town. The school building has been abandoned for decades, and the majority of the business district was leveled by a tornado in 2004. Toyah School, built 1912 Ruins of the old Bank Toyah Christian Church Toyah Baptist Church, est 1903 For more Toyah photos, check out my Toyah album.
  2. Ghost Town To Be Turned Into Bikini Hall Of Fame Posted: Jul 09, 2013 5:44 PM PDTUpdated: Jul 09, 2013 6:02 PM PDT BIKINIS, Texas - Doug Guller, owner of a sports bar chain, bought all the property from the abandoned town of Bankersmith, Texas in 2012. He has since changed the town name to Bikinis, and will have a grand opening of his bikini hall of fame next week. The bikini hall of fame will detail the history of the bikini from its invention in 1946 to its world wide popularity in modern day. The grand opening on July 13 will feature live music from famous country musician Jerry Jeff Walker and a meet and greet with model Carmen Electra. Doug's move has drawn controversy, with some questioning his ability to rename a town that no longer exists, and others not happy with what he's turning the town into. Bankersmith lost most of its population after WWII when residents left in search of better-paying work. Doug Geller purchased the remains of the town on Craigslist. The identity seller and the purchase price are unknown. Guller owns Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, a chain of breastaurants. He says he has no plan to open another chain in the town.
  3. Found some old newspaper articles about a few ghost towns. Cake, Oregon.pdf Delleker.pdf Ghost Towns, Ryan Included.pdf Grafton, Utah.pdf Kendall, Montana.pdf Nevadaville.pdf Oregon Ghost Towns.pdf Rhyolite.pdf San Luis, Texas.pdf Thurber_Texas.pdf Thurber_Texas_2.pdf
  4. It is this kind of crap that causes the further loss of ghost towns. I would love to find this chucklehead and give him a swift kick in the butt. Even worse is that he is teaching his child to disrespect property.
  5. An interesting read with some excellent photographs about the Cheapside ghost town. Read more here. Anyone been there? "The first settlers came to Cheapside in and around 1857, establishing a small agricultural community focused on cotton for profit and livestock, poultry and grain for survival. Named by Dr. E. R. Henry, a local doctor of English decent from Cheapside, Va., the settlement began to grow on the plot of rolling prairie overlooking the valley and shaded by oak trees. An historical marker boasts that the area was once home to "a cotton gin, grist mill, hotel, grocery stores, saloons and a variety of other businesses."
  • Create New...