• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

David A. Wright

2002 Toyota Tacoma Door Handle Replacement

First, whatever happened to the button to start a new thread?  And is this a new thread or a plea for help ("ask a question")?  I'm telling a story here, not asking a question.

Second, my faithful, reliable 2002 Toyota Tacoma TRD 4x4 pickup broke it's driver side door handle.  Been difficult to operate for about a year.  Knew it was going to fail one day.  Center part of the handle broke out, resulting in a gap toothed look.  I had been eyeing an aftermarket replacement handle for a while, so bought it at a local auto parts house.  Kind of afraid to try, as I'm no mechanic, but watched a You Tube video that made it look easy.

No, not easy, but not difficult either.  And the video didn't portray all there was to it either.  But no biggie, I went for it.

Pulling the door apart was straight forward.  But then, the inside door handle broke as I was trying to get the panel off.  I got the bolts out of the outside door handle, the left side (as seen from inside the door), difficult to access as you are trying to get around the lock tumbler, the rod from the inside door handle and the rod going to the inside lock.  By the time I got all apart, it was dark so shut down for the night.

Next day I tried to find an inside door handle at the local auto parts house.  No luck.  Finally had to order it from a large automotive dealership distribution center in Salt Lake City.  Only cost me $29.  But part was located far away so added a week to delivery.